Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 7th, 2008

Absolutely disgusting.

No, I am not refering to the team’s narrow win over Wigan. I am refering to the crowds that booed Eboue. Those so-called fans that booed Eboue instead of getting behind the player, just because he misplaced a few passes in the final minutes. This was Eboue’s first match after he came back from injury, and he did reasonably well on the left wing as a substitute, despite being deployed out of position. In the final 5-10 minutes, Wigan was exerting enormous pressure on us, and the players were panicking and giving away the ball. Eboue gave away the ball 2-3 times and was booed by his own fans.

When Eboue was being substituted out of the field in the dying minutes of the game, the crowd booed him even louder. I could see he was probably in tears and I really felt very bad about it. Eboue was often made a scapegoat by his own fans, but now the booing was really uncalled for. It’s such a disgraceful act by these so-called fans.

I wondered how Eboue and the rest of the players felt. If I were them, I would probably be thinking why am I playing for such a team, in front of such “fans”. These fans had better go home and reflect on themselves and their poor upbringings.

Read Full Post »